Important Message from Foscam Digital Technologies Regarding US Sales & Service



We, Foscam.US (aka Foscam Digital Technologies and now Amcrest Technologies), are an independent United States based distributor of "Foscam" branded products. We have been offering telephone support, US local warranty and building the Foscam brand in the US for the past 7 years. However, we are deeply saddened to report that, even after all of this, our overseas suppliers have decided to undercut us and supply to our major customers directly. For this reason, we have no choice but to suspend telephone support for all Foscam branded products. If you have purchased a Foscam camera directly from us or from one of our authorized retailers, technical support is still available via email at support@foscam.us.


For customers who have not purchased from us directly, we advise you to please contact Foscam Shenzhen or the distributor which you have purchased from. In the meantime, we have launched our own new brand of IP cameras called Amcrest, which has superior quality products and full telephone technical support 7 days per week. We hope you can support us in our new venture. For more information, please visit www.Amcrest.com.



Audio plug-in, Chrome/Win7

Users can ask and answer questions regarding Foscam IP Cameras

Moderators: mycam, FOSCAM

Audio plug-in, Chrome/Win7

Postby idolphin » Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:02 pm

Hi

I am a new user. I have a FI8918W IP camera. I use Google Chrome on a netbook running window 7 (yes, I know it;'s crap). When I try to use audio I get the msg 'no audio plugin exists'. Sooooooo I installed the full VLC medi player, re-booted everything (whilst crossing my fingers) and guess what? No sound still.

Can anyone tell me, in plain English, what I need to do to get sound working?

Many thanks to anyone who can!

Ian
idolphin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:53 pm

Re: Audio plug-in, Chrome/Win7

Postby TheUberOverLord » Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:41 pm

There is no easy method on Windows, minus using IE ("Internet Explorer") for audio in real-time.

It's important to note that you MUST use the IE 32 Bit version of the browser, if you are on a 64 bit based system.

Generally, both the 32 and 64 bit versions of IE are installed on on 64 bit based systems.

You can use your Start Button All Programs to look for the 32 bit IE version on your system.

Worse case, if needed, you can install the IE 32 bit version. The 32 and 64 bit versions can run side-by-side on 64 bit systems.

Don
TheUberOverLord
 
Posts: 13096
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:52 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests