Save up to 30% on select Foscam IP Cameras


changing port number == losing connection

Users can ask and answer questions regarding Foscam IP Cameras

Moderators: mycam, FOSCAM

changing port number == losing connection

Postby jagreenough » Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:47 am

Hi,
Just got an FI8910W. connecting on the LAN both wired and wireless works fine. When trying to setup port forwarding to view via the internet causes me to lose the ability to "get in" to the IPcam.
If I change the port from the default 80, to 8090 as suggested by foscam.us on the IPcam and submit (IPcam reboots), I cannot log into the IPcam (either with IE or firefox), but I can still ping it and it responds and it shows up as still attached to the router using the static IP I gave it. All entries in the LAN network setup are correct.

my router is a netgear wndr4000. I set both TCP and UDP to be forwarded to 8090. I've also set the IPcam to use a static IP on my LAN.

I try to load either my public IP in the browser or the private IP and the attemtp to connect times out. The IPcam shows up in the router's attached devices table so it's there.

What am I missing/doing wrong? I have to resort to factory reset to get back into the IPcam.
Best,
jeff
jagreenough
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:32 am

Re: changing port number == losing connection

Postby jagreenough » Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:54 am

update 1 (sorry to answer my own post):
in firefox, I can access the IPCam by entering as the browser address:
192.168.0.125:8090 (static IP + port). this is progress.

the same address does not work in IE (version 7, 7.0.6002.18005) even with protection mode all the way off for all types of connections.

I can also access the IPCam using the public IP:8090 with firefox, but not with IE. I'm guessing this means the port forwarding is correct and I just have an IE issue?

IE is required to fully control the IPCam, so I can't give up on it.

Thanks,
jeff
jagreenough
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:32 am

Re: changing port number == losing connection

Postby TheUberOverLord » Sat Aug 11, 2012 12:20 pm

jagreenough wrote:update 1 (sorry to answer my own post):
in firefox, I can access the IPCam by entering as the browser address:
192.168.0.125:8090 (static IP + port). this is progress.

the same address does not work in IE (version 7, 7.0.6002.18005) even with protection mode all the way off for all types of connections.

I can also access the IPCam using the public IP:8090 with firefox, but not with IE. I'm guessing this means the port forwarding is correct and I just have an IE issue?

IE is required to fully control the IPCam, so I can't give up on it.

Thanks,
jeff


Please see this: http://foscam.us/forum/ie-shows-nothing-t2776.html?hilit=64%20bit#p12394

Don
:?: Click on these links for HELP :!:
View Cameras On ANY Devices: MJPEG Cameras H.264 Cameras
How To: Setup IP Cameras Securely Display IP Cameras On Web
About Me
TheUberOverLord
 
Posts: 10843
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:52 pm

Re: changing port number == losing connection

Postby jagreenough » Sat Aug 11, 2012 12:47 pm

Hi Don thanks for the reply. I'd already looked at that link. let me know summarize what's up:

* firefox (latest version) can connect via LAN ip (192.168.0.125:8090) and via public IP:8090. 3G app also works.

* IE7 (i can't tell if it's 32 or 64 bit, but think it's 32 bit as this is a 5year old lenovo laptop) cannot connect to the IPcam unless I'm using the default port 80. changing to port 8090 is what has caused IE7 to not be able to connect to the IPcam using either the LAN IP:8090 or the public IP:8090. default port 80 works, port 8090 does not.

* IE6 also fails to connect on both public and LAN IP:8090 (even older desktop XP system).

CAn anyone shed light?
Thanks, jeff
jagreenough
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:32 am

Re: changing port number == losing connection

Postby TheUberOverLord » Sat Aug 11, 2012 4:25 pm

jagreenough wrote:Hi Don thanks for the reply. I'd already looked at that link. let me know summarize what's up:

* firefox (latest version) can connect via LAN ip (192.168.0.125:8090) and via public IP:8090. 3G app also works.

* IE7 (i can't tell if it's 32 or 64 bit, but think it's 32 bit as this is a 5year old lenovo laptop) cannot connect to the IPcam unless I'm using the default port 80. changing to port 8090 is what has caused IE7 to not be able to connect to the IPcam using either the LAN IP:8090 or the public IP:8090. default port 80 works, port 8090 does not.

* IE6 also fails to connect on both public and LAN IP:8090 (even older desktop XP system).

CAn anyone shed light?
Thanks, jeff


You are very welcome.

As insane as this sounds, could you try making the port 90?

I would not change any port forwarding or anything, please just make the change in the camera, and then try using IE to access the camera using port 90 from the local network using the local IP address as well.

If this works, there is some issue with a firewall you may have running that maybe blocking port 8090?

Don
:?: Click on these links for HELP :!:
View Cameras On ANY Devices: MJPEG Cameras H.264 Cameras
How To: Setup IP Cameras Securely Display IP Cameras On Web
About Me
TheUberOverLord
 
Posts: 10843
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:52 pm

Re: changing port number == losing connection

Postby jagreenough » Sat Aug 11, 2012 4:55 pm

Hi Don,
I got this solved... in IE I had to add the prefix "http://" to either the public IP:8090 or the private IP:8090. Go figure. Firefox must assume that...

Best and thanks,
jeff
jagreenough
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:32 am

Re: changing port number == losing connection

Postby TheUberOverLord » Sat Aug 11, 2012 5:11 pm

jagreenough wrote:Hi Don,
I got this solved... in IE I had to add the prefix "http://" to either the public IP:8090 or the private IP:8090. Go figure. Firefox must assume that...

Best and thanks,
jeff


You are very welcome.

Don
:?: Click on these links for HELP :!:
View Cameras On ANY Devices: MJPEG Cameras H.264 Cameras
How To: Setup IP Cameras Securely Display IP Cameras On Web
About Me
TheUberOverLord
 
Posts: 10843
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:52 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 5 guests