Save up to 30% on select Foscam IP Cameras


[Tutorial] How to solve ActiveX install issue

Users can ask and answer questions regarding Foscam IP Cameras

Moderators: mycam, FOSCAM

[Tutorial] How to solve ActiveX install issue

Postby Rico » Thu May 03, 2012 9:29 am

I have made a quick tutorial for people who have issue to install Foscam ActiveX under IE (I have tested only on: FI8918W and IE8).

I use this method when I help friends by phone. :)

Download the file:

http://cam-ip:port/codebase/DVM_IPCam2.ocx

and copy "DVM_IPCam2.ocx" in "C:\Windows\".

Run a "Command Prompt" (DOS) as administator (for Windows Vista and Seven: right clic on "Command Prompt" and "Run as administrator").

In the "black" box, type this command:

regsvr32 C:\Windows\DVM_IPCam2.ocx

and validate.

Now the ActiveX is installed and all is working under IE.


To uninstall the ActiveX:
regsvr32 /u C:\Windows\DVM_IPCam2.ocx
and delete the file "DVM_IPCam2.ocx".
Last edited by Rico on Fri Jun 22, 2012 9:01 am, edited 4 times in total.
Rico
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 4:46 pm

Re: [Tutorial] How to solve ActiveX install issue

Postby timxua » Fri May 04, 2012 7:15 pm

After I downloaded the file DVM_IPCam2.ocx and copy it put in system32 and ran it I get this message "The module "C:\WindowsSystem32\DVM_IPCam2.ocx" failed to load. Make sure the binary is stored at the specified path or debug it to check for problems with the binary or dependent .dll files. The specified module could not be found."

Can you help me out please.

Thanks
timxua
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 7:05 pm

Re: [Tutorial] How to solve ActiveX install issue

Postby lilla » Fri May 04, 2012 8:28 pm

Here's what worked for me, on a number of computers now.

http://foscam.us/forum/dvm-ipcam2-ocx-t1831.html#p9265

You might want to check it out.

Lilla
lilla
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 10:24 pm

Re: [Tutorial] How to solve ActiveX install issue

Postby Rico » Sat May 05, 2012 3:44 am

Sorry, it is my fault, I have made my test under XP and no controled under 7 (now it works on both):

For windows 7 (i have made the test on mine), copy the file .ocx in C:\Windows (not C:\Windows\System32) or you will get the message that you have (I have mofified the Tutorial too).

Please confirm me that all is ok now :D
Rico
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 4:46 pm

Re: [Tutorial] How to solve ActiveX install issue

Postby timxua » Sat May 05, 2012 10:40 am

I follwed your direction, I'm still get this message "The module "C:\Window\DVM_IPCam2.ocx" failed to load. Make sure the binary is stored at the specified path or debug it to check for problems with the binary or dependent .dll files. The specified module could not be found."

Please help me.
Thanks
timxua
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 7:05 pm

Re: [Tutorial] How to solve ActiveX install issue

Postby Rico » Sat May 05, 2012 11:18 am

You run the command prompt as administrator ?

If yes:
Try to create a folder "C:\Foscam\" and copy "DVM_IPCam2.ocx" in:

and run the command as administrator:

regsvr32 C:\Foscam\DVM_IPCam2.ocx


If it doesn't work too, disable UAC and try again after:
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows- ... ows-vista/

You use windows 7 ?
Rico
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 4:46 pm

Re: [Tutorial] How to solve ActiveX install issue

Postby PT-no-ip » Sat May 05, 2012 7:40 pm

Rico wrote:You run the command prompt as administrator ?

If yes:
Try to create a folder "C:\Foscam\" and copy "DVM_IPCam2.ocx" in:

and run the command as administrator:

regsvr32 C:\Foscam\DVM_IPCam2.ocx


If it doesn't work too, disable UAC and try again after:
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows- ... ows-vista/

You use windows 7 ?


Hi, under Windows7 / iexplorer9, the easiest way I found is:
have installed my first foscam F18904W, could not install ActiveX ( Windows7 / Internet Explorer9) after 5 hours googling and searching, after changing everything in security settings, I found this very simple trick:
In Tools > Internet Options : Advanced TAB,
check the option called "Allow software to run or install even if the signature is invalid", Restart Browser, login to camera, now Windows ask you " do you want to install ActiveX bla bla..." instead automatically block it. Click on install, you now can access Camera !!

PS. I reset all Internet settings to default, only checked the option box mentioned above, nothing more. When you set security level lower, Windows allways warn you with ennoying messages.
PT-no-ip
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 11:15 pm

Re: [Tutorial] How to solve ActiveX install issue

Postby jctune » Thu May 24, 2012 10:24 am

So what if you don't have administrator access to a machine? Are you out of luck?

Seems like an easy solution would be for you guys to just sign the activeX control with a new certificate.
jctune
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 10:23 am

Re: [Tutorial] How to solve ActiveX install issue

Postby djsound » Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:31 pm

RICO-
THANK you , this worked for me on IE8 on two different 32bit XP machines!
djsound
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:29 pm

Re: [Tutorial] How to solve ActiveX install issue

Postby cw9610 » Fri Jun 22, 2012 6:29 am

PT-no-ip wrote:
Rico wrote:You run the command prompt as administrator ?

If yes:
Try to create a folder "C:\Foscam\" and copy "DVM_IPCam2.ocx" in:

and run the command as administrator:

regsvr32 C:\Foscam\DVM_IPCam2.ocx


If it doesn't work too, disable UAC and try again after:
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows- ... ows-vista/

You use windows 7 ?


Hi, under Windows7 / iexplorer9, the easiest way I found is:
have installed my first foscam F18904W, could not install ActiveX ( Windows7 / Internet Explorer9) after 5 hours googling and searching, after changing everything in security settings, I found this very simple trick:
In Tools > Internet Options : Advanced TAB,
check the option called "Allow software to run or install even if the signature is invalid", Restart Browser, login to camera, now Windows ask you " do you want to install ActiveX bla bla..." instead automatically block it. Click on install, you now can access Camera !!

PS. I reset all Internet settings to default, only checked the option box mentioned above, nothing more. When you set security level lower, Windows allways warn you with ennoying messages.



Tried this for IE9 in Win7 64-bit. Didn't work. I agree with jctune, what is needed is a new signed certificate.
cw9610
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 10:38 pm

Next

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests