Important Message from Foscam Digital Technologies Regarding US Sales & Service



We, Foscam.US (aka Foscam Digital Technologies and now Amcrest Technologies), are an independent United States based distributor of "Foscam" branded products. We have been offering telephone support, US local warranty and building the Foscam brand in the US for the past 7 years. However, we are deeply saddened to report that, even after all of this, our overseas suppliers have decided to undercut us and supply to our major customers directly. For this reason, we have no choice but to suspend telephone support for all Foscam branded products. If you have purchased a Foscam camera directly from us or from one of our authorized retailers, technical support is still available via email at support@foscam.us.


For customers who have not purchased from us directly, we advise you to please contact Foscam Shenzhen or the distributor which you have purchased from. In the meantime, we have launched our own new brand of IP cameras called Amcrest, which has superior quality products and full telephone technical support 7 days per week. We hope you can support us in our new venture. For more information, please visit www.Amcrest.com.



Cox Cable blocks port 80

General discussion regarding Foscam IP Cameras

Cox Cable blocks port 80

Postby mattress67 » Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:29 pm

I hope to save some people a lot of time and frustration. Close to five hours in my case. In short...

Cox cable (large Southwestern U.S. Internet provider) blocks port 80.

In short, you'll get everything working on your home network, but you will be unable to access your camera from the Internet. And all your settings will be correct, including your port forwarding settings, i.e., your computer will show it open and available. But, it'll be no use.

Personally, I can vouch for port 8090.

Hope some of you find this info soon, or before you send a working camera back to the store.
mattress67
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:25 pm

Re: Cox Cable blocks port 80

Postby muzicman61 » Thu Jul 14, 2011 6:55 am

They can't be blocking port 80 (http traffic) or you couldn't get to any web page. However I agree with you, as I've stated previously, using port 80 for your camera is a bad idea.
muzicman61
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 1:02 pm

Re: Cox Cable blocks port 80

Postby SunshineApps » Sat Jul 16, 2011 3:04 am

They can't be blocking port 80 (http traffic) or you couldn't get to any web page.


they could be blocking inbound 80 vs allowing outbound web access via port 80. two different things. Normally there should be no problem using port 80, but once you have more than one device, then it's often easier to use a block of higher range numbers.

Hope some of you find this info soon


I wonder if there is an FAQ around for this type of info? good find anyway.
Check out our iPhone/iPad Baby Monitor & CCTV Apps for Foscams. Search 'SunshineApps' in iTunes.
SunshineApps
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 2:10 am

Re: Cox Cable blocks port 80

Postby mattress67 » Sun Jul 24, 2011 3:06 pm

mattress67
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:25 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests