Important Message from Foscam Digital Technologies Regarding US Sales & Service



We, Foscam.US (aka Foscam Digital Technologies and now Amcrest Technologies), are an independent United States based distributor of "Foscam" branded products. We have been offering telephone support, US local warranty and building the Foscam brand in the US for the past 7 years. However, we are deeply saddened to report that, even after all of this, our overseas suppliers have decided to undercut us and supply to our major customers directly. For this reason, we have no choice but to suspend telephone support for all Foscam branded products. If you have purchased a Foscam camera directly from us or from one of our authorized retailers, technical support is still available via email at support@foscam.us.


For customers who have not purchased from us directly, we advise you to please contact Foscam Shenzhen or the distributor which you have purchased from. In the meantime, we have launched our own new brand of IP cameras called Amcrest, which has superior quality products and full telephone technical support 7 days per week. We hope you can support us in our new venture. For more information, please visit www.Amcrest.com.



NEW ROUTER...SAME WIRELESS ISSUES WITH F19821W

Users can ask and answer questions regarding Foscam IP Cameras

Moderators: mycam, FOSCAM

Re: NEW ROUTER...SAME WIRELESS ISSUES WITH F19821W

Postby dcc575 » Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:12 pm

If you are referring to auto selection in my router ...then that would be no. I have changed the channels numerous times over the past few months to try and get a cearer channel. It seems that no channel provides me with an relief.

I tend to refrain from the auto channel but I am tempted to go back to it.
dcc575
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:26 am

Re: NEW ROUTER...SAME WIRELESS ISSUES WITH F19821W

Postby TheUberOverLord » Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:17 pm

dcc575 wrote:If you are referring to auto selection in my router ...then that would be no. I have changed the channels numerous times over the past few months to try and get a cearer channel. It seems that no channel provides me with an relief.

I tend to refrain from the auto channel but I am tempted to go back to it.


Curious. Is the camera still connecting using 802.11 b/g?

Don
TheUberOverLord
 
Posts: 13091
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:52 pm

Re: NEW ROUTER...SAME WIRELESS ISSUES WITH F19821W

Postby dcc575 » Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:19 pm

how can i determine that? I just tried to remotely access it and it has dropped again. Seems worse now.
dcc575
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:26 am

Re: NEW ROUTER...SAME WIRELESS ISSUES WITH F19821W

Postby TheUberOverLord » Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:23 pm

dcc575 wrote:how can i determine that? I just tried to remotely access it and it has dropped again. Seems worse now.


I am wondering, if maybe your Router/AP users manual goes into how to define a SSID specifically for 802.11 b/g only, without supporting 802.11 n vs. only 2.4 Ghz and 5 Ghz?

Worse case, I suppose, for testing, you could force your Router/AP into 802.11 b/g only, to see if that makes any difference.

Don
TheUberOverLord
 
Posts: 13091
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:52 pm

Re: NEW ROUTER...SAME WIRELESS ISSUES WITH F19821W

Postby dcc575 » Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:30 pm

I can try that but this is a brand new router.......This really should not happen with these cameras. For it to drop off all the time and then have to constantly search for an adjustment within the router makes the camera much more trouble than it is worth.

The camera is pretty expensive to make you work just to keep it connected. I have wasted countless hours trying to make this work. There is something inherently wrong with that.

When do we resign ourselves to say that the wireless aspect of this camera is just plain poor quality.
dcc575
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:26 am

Re: NEW ROUTER...SAME WIRELESS ISSUES WITH F19821W

Postby TheUberOverLord » Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:34 pm

dcc575 wrote:I can try that but this is a brand new router.......This really should not happen with these cameras. For it to drop off all the time and then have to constantly search for an adjustment within the router makes the camera much more trouble than it is worth.

The camera is pretty expensive to make you work just to keep it connected. I have wasted countless hours trying to make this work. There is something inherently wrong with that.

When do we resign ourselves to say that the wireless aspect of this camera is just plain poor quality.


I agree. But sadly. In order to try and isolate issues like this, in many cases, it may require some testing. The only other option is to leave things as they are. Which of course, is your choice.

Don
TheUberOverLord
 
Posts: 13091
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:52 pm

Re: NEW ROUTER...SAME WIRELESS ISSUES WITH F19821W

Postby dcc575 » Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:47 pm

I understand....as any consumer....you have to expect it to work and it does not. I will keep trying. I do not recall a loction in my router interface that allows you to change the wireless to b/n etc...

ASUS RT-AC66R ROUTER
dcc575
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:26 am

Re: NEW ROUTER...SAME WIRELESS ISSUES WITH F19821W

Postby TheUberOverLord » Fri Feb 22, 2013 7:25 pm

dcc575 wrote:I understand....as any consumer....you have to expect it to work and it does not. I will keep trying. I do not recall a loction in my router interface that allows you to change the wireless to b/n etc...

ASUS RT-AC66R ROUTER


I think the Router/AP Users Manual would go into details about possible settings for this.

Don
TheUberOverLord
 
Posts: 13091
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:52 pm

Re: NEW ROUTER...SAME WIRELESS ISSUES WITH F19821W

Postby dcc575 » Sat Feb 23, 2013 9:46 am

man....my camera drops more than ever now.....
dcc575
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:26 am

Re: NEW ROUTER...SAME WIRELESS ISSUES WITH F19821W

Postby TheUberOverLord » Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:03 am

dcc575 wrote:man....my camera drops more than ever now.....


What wireless channel are you on and could there be other nearby wireless networks on or near that channel?

fi8918w-drops-wifi-connection-t3440.html#p15934

Don
TheUberOverLord
 
Posts: 13091
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:52 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests