Save up to 30% on select Foscam IP Cameras


Can't connect via Internet / Port Forwarding problems.

Users can ask and answer questions regarding Foscam IP Cameras

Moderators: mycam, FOSCAM

Can't connect via Internet / Port Forwarding problems.

Postby mahaguru » Sun Nov 25, 2012 2:51 pm

I just purchased FOSCAM F18918W IP WIRELESS CAMERA.

I can connect wireless via my router, but i can't connect via Internet.
i follow the instruction in every detail on port forwarding but i still cannot connect.

Here is my config.
foscam Camera "BASIC NETWORK SETTING"
IP ADDRESS 192.168.1.4
SUBNET MASK 255.255.255.0
GATEWAY 192.168.1.1
DNS SERVER 192.168.1.1
HTTP PORT 8090

I can access the cam using wireless with 192.168.1.4:8090
I open an account with dyndns, and can access my router interface via internet either with ip address or with username.dyndns.org

But i can't access the cam via internet, either with IP ADDRESS:8090 OR username.dyndns.org:8090

Under NAT , VIRTUAL SERVER CONFIG , there is this setup.

server name= camera
external port start =8090
external port end= 8090
protocol= TCP/UDP
internal port start=8090
internal port end = 8090
server ip address =192.168.1.4
wan interface= ppp0


ROUTER is innacom w3400V .

What possibly can go wrong ?
mahaguru
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 2:33 pm

Re: Can't connect via Internet / Port Forwarding problems.

Postby munanhua » Tue Dec 04, 2012 11:23 pm

Hey there,
I came cross your post and just wondering if you have the solution? I am having the same problem right now.
Thank you very much!
Grace
munanhua
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 11:20 pm

Re: Can't connect via Internet / Port Forwarding problems.

Postby TheUberOverLord » Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:15 am

IMHO, Ports 8080, 8090 and 80 are the very worst ports you can choose for any camera. Because they can conflict with ports used by your network equipment, when trying to access your cameras remotely.

You would be much better off using port 90, for example. But, you would not only need to change the port in the camera configuration, you would also need to change your port forwarding to use this port as well.

That said. Can you access port 8090 from within your local network using this: http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/

Does it show port 8090 as open?

Don
:?: Click on these quick links for HELP with your cameras: :!:
View Cameras On ANY Device: MJPEG Cameras H.264 Cameras
How To: Wireless Camera Setup Test and Tweak Camera Setup
About Me All of the above tools are FREE! :shock:
TheUberOverLord
 
Posts: 8495
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:52 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Deviouz and 3 guests