Important Message from Foscam Digital Technologies Regarding US Sales & Service



We, Foscam.US (aka Foscam Digital Technologies and now Amcrest Technologies), are an independent United States based distributor of "Foscam" branded products. We have been offering telephone support, US local warranty and building the Foscam brand in the US for the past 7 years. However, we are deeply saddened to report that, even after all of this, our overseas suppliers have decided to undercut us and supply to our major customers directly. For this reason, we have no choice but to suspend telephone support for all Foscam branded products. If you have purchased a Foscam camera directly from us or from one of our authorized retailers, technical support is still available via email at support@foscam.us.


For customers who have not purchased from us directly, we advise you to please contact Foscam Shenzhen or the distributor which you have purchased from. In the meantime, we have launched our own new brand of IP cameras called Amcrest, which has superior quality products and full telephone technical support 7 days per week. We hope you can support us in our new venture. For more information, please visit www.Amcrest.com.



Cannot find Camera IP

Users can ask and answer questions regarding Foscam IP Cameras

Moderators: mycam, FOSCAM

Cannot find Camera IP

Postby Casper » Fri Feb 10, 2012 5:05 pm

Hello,

I received two new F18918W cameras this morning. I followed the instructions but cant see the IP address in the IP Camera Tool. I've spent several hours trying everything I can think of but no luck.

I've tried both cameras,

I've changed the LAN cables.

I've tried two different routers.

I'm running Windows 7 64 bit.

I've got the Windows Defender firewall disabled as well as AVG virus protection.

I have DHCP enabled in my router.

MAC filtering is turned off.

I also have the firewall in the router disabled.

I'm running IE 9.

When I run the "IP Camera Tool" nothing happens how ever long it sits there. It shows absolutly no results.

I'm just about at my wits end here. What am I doing wrong???

Thank you...
Casper
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Cannot find Camera IP

Postby CamUser » Fri Feb 10, 2012 5:43 pm

Why do you need to see them in the IP Cam tool?

You should be able to look in your router's DHCP list and find the IP addresses for the units, then type that directly into a browser address bar to get the camera log in screen.

Then set a fixed IP address for each camera.
CamUser
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 11:33 am

Re: Cannot find Camera IP

Postby Casper » Fri Feb 10, 2012 5:53 pm

Why do you need to see them in the IP Cam tool?
Because that is what the instructions told me to do. I'm no expert here. I'm just following the instructions.
You should be able to look in your router's DHCP list and find the IP addresses for the units, then type that directly into a browser address bar to get the camera log in screen.
Then set a fixed IP address for each camera.
I half understand what you mean. I'll give it a try. To me this is not "Quick and Easy Set up" It may be quick and easy if the instructions / software worked or if I were an experet in networking.

Thank you.
Casper
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Cannot find Camera IP

Postby FOSCAM » Mon Feb 13, 2012 2:14 am

1. Try to reset it. Keep the power on of the camera, hold down the reset bottom (the reset button is on the bottom of the camera) about 30 seconds and then release it.

2. Check connection. Camera and computer are in the same network, another word; they are connected to the same router. Camera only patrol when camera restart. The red power light is on, green network light is blinking, green light on RJ-45 Ethernet cable is on and orange one is blinking slowly.
If still nothing on IP camera tool, access to router and check can you see camera’s mac address and IP on DHCP list? If there is the IP address, please open a web page and access camera with the IP address.

If not, Connect camera to computer directly and turn off firewall and antivirus software to check is there any information on camera tool.
FOSCAM
 
Posts: 766
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 9:11 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests