Important Message from Foscam Digital Technologies Regarding US Sales & Service



We, Foscam.US (aka Foscam Digital Technologies and now Amcrest Technologies), are an independent United States based distributor of "Foscam" branded products. We have been offering telephone support, US local warranty and building the Foscam brand in the US for the past 7 years. However, we are deeply saddened to report that, even after all of this, our overseas suppliers have decided to undercut us and supply to our major customers directly. For this reason, we have no choice but to suspend telephone support for all Foscam branded products. If you have purchased a Foscam camera directly from us or from one of our authorized retailers, technical support is still available via email at support@foscam.us.


For customers who have not purchased from us directly, we advise you to please contact Foscam Shenzhen or the distributor which you have purchased from. In the meantime, we have launched our own new brand of IP cameras called Amcrest, which has superior quality products and full telephone technical support 7 days per week. We hope you can support us in our new venture. For more information, please visit www.Amcrest.com.



set-up camera to range extender

Users can ask and answer questions regarding Foscam IP Cameras

Moderators: mycam, FOSCAM

set-up camera to range extender

Postby ca2pa-fos » Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:21 am

My signal is too weak for my camera on my enclosed porch so I bought a Belkin range extender. On my iPad I now see two networks both with the same name except one has _et on the end (for extended) and I have to choose which one I want to connect to when using my iPad. If that is the case, then I'd suspect the camera must choose that network also. So how do I get my camera to use the extended network signal? Do I have to reset the camera and reinstall it by plugging it into the Belkin extender during set-up instead of plugging it into my router?
ca2pa-fos
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:11 am

Re: set-up camera to range extender

Postby ca2pa-fos » Thu Apr 25, 2013 12:06 pm

Never mind. I was making it too complicated. I thought I was going to have to port forward through the signal extender device or something. I found out that I go to the ip camera tool on my computer and click on the camera and when it loads look down at the bottom of the page and click on device management and when you get there, click on wireless LAN settings. Click "Scan" and the new network's SSID shows up on the list (at least my new one did) and then just pick that one. I have mine set up with a WEP key and under key 1, I added my new password for the extended network.
One thing I noticed. When I picked the new wifi network my DDNS status came back with "network error" though the camera was working.
**After posting this, my DDNS came back without the network error, there must be a delay after changing the SSID. So all is good! And with the range extender (I got the Belkin) my cameras' videos pop up even before the window surrounding them do. I'm getting smooth motion. I left my upstairs camera connecting to my router and the downstairs cameras are now connecting to the signal extender located downstairs, and are operating perfectly.
ca2pa-fos
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:11 am

Re: set-up camera to range extender

Postby rmayo » Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:02 pm

To view the camera from off-network, besides passing port 80 through the router, did you have to pass anything through the extender?
rmayo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 3:59 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: yvor and 4 guests