Save up to 30% on select Foscam IP Cameras


static or dynamic IP address

Users can ask and answer questions regarding Foscam IP Cameras

Moderators: mycam, FOSCAM

static or dynamic IP address

Postby orcas » Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:04 pm

I tried to do a static IP address, but never could get it to work. My Westell modem enabled it, but I could never see the camera.

So I guess I have to do a dynamic IP address and all that. DynDNS.com doesn't seem to offer it for free anymore. Is there another service provider you recommend?

Or could I be doing something wrong with the static IP address?
orcas
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:01 pm

Re: static or dynamic IP address

Postby bamx2 » Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:14 pm

Until Foscam comes up with more embedded DDNS provider options (maybe via firmware upgrades) you can use the built-in DDNS client in your router with port forwarding .

BTW -Maybe you have a DD-WRT compatible router ( find out at http://www.DD-WRT.com) . Routers flashed with DD-WRT firmware offer many DDNS provider choices (some of them free) .
( http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Dynamic_DNS#DynDNS )

These references might be helpful to you -

viewing-camera-on-internet-t1465.html

http://ipcamnetwork.wordpress.com/2010/ ... -internet/ , read the comments

http://www.portforward.com

For a different camera but a good example for an IP camera / router port forwarding setup -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MvUWvWQU8bY&noredirect=1



BTW- DynDns.com still offers free service but it is somewhat limited You have to sing up for for the trial hten cancel then you have to renew your free acct every 30 days by logging to your account . You Their pro service is $20 per yr and worth it to many users.
bamx2
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 8:03 am

Re: static or dynamic IP address

Postby orcas » Fri Dec 30, 2011 8:05 pm

Thanks so much for your help! I'll check out the web sites.

I'm a bit worried I don't even know if my camera is connected wirelessly to my router. I went through the config steps. How do I know if it connects wirelessly? Is it by the green blinking button on the back?
orcas
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:01 pm

Re: static or dynamic IP address

Postby bamx2 » Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:20 pm

It may also be helpful to review the manuals (available online ) of other brands of cameras ( eg - trendnet tv-ip110 ) . Some of the manuals are fiarly comprehensive , easier to understand and combined with the Foscam manual will help you get your camera setup . Also there are several Youtube IP camera setup videos (some are for Foscam spcamera ) .
bamx2
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 8:03 am


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests